Jun 11, 2012


By Claudia Gray

Book: Stand Alone
Publisher: HarperCollins
Pub Date: Sept 13 2011
Genre: Young Adult
Format: Hardcover
Source: Borrowed
Book LinksGoodreads   Amazon

The RMS Titanic is the most luxurious ship ever built, but for eighteen-year-old Tess Davies it’s a prison. Travelling as a maid for the family she has served for years, Tess is trapped in their employ amid painful memories and family secrets.

When she meets Alec, a handsome upper class passenger, Tess falls helplessly in love. But Alec has secrets of his own… and soon Tess is entangled in a dangerous game. A sinister brotherhood that will do anything to induct Alec into their mystical order has followed him onboard. And Tess is now their most powerful pawn.

Tess and Alec fight the dark forces threatening to tear them apart, never realising that they will have to face an even greater peril before the journey is over…

My Review: Tess Davies works for the Lisle family in Southampton Irene is the only one in the family who treats Tess with any respect or gratitude. Alexander and Mikhail two men who she meets when she gets on the boat with the Lisle family. Mikhail is a predator, dead set on recruiting Alec into the Brotherhood and terrorising Tess for his own twisted pleasure. With his dangerous werewolf curse, Alec initially tries to stay away from Tess but the attraction between them grows quickly, with neither able to resist the other. Even as a wolf, Alec finds himself unable to hurt Tess, his human self overpowering the beast. The fight for love is overly strong in this book. At then end of the book when the ship goes down Tess losses the Lisle family and Alex stays behind, but she knows one thing about him and that is that  he can't die. So Tess pretends to look for her lost one in the pile of dead people and eventually finds Alex. Once he comes to they look for Mikhail and go to kill him, afterward leading a life of their own.