Jul 16, 2013

Author Request! What Once Was One

What Once Was One
by Marc Johnson

Book: The Passage of Hellsfire #2
Publisher: Longshot 
Pub Date: Sept 24 2012
Genre: Paranormal, Young Adult
Format: eBook
Source: Author
Book LinksGoodreads  Amazon  Book Depository

In the land of Northern Shala, the dark wizard Premier raised an army of foul creatures from the Wastelands and led them against the ancient guardian city of Alexandria. Hellsfire, a young farmhand turned apprentice wizard, defeated Premier and saved Alexandria, but not before the battle claimed his mentor’s life.

Hellsfire, now a full-fledged wizard, must finish what he started by hunting down Premier and seizing the source of the wizard’s dark power and corruption—the Book of Shazul. He must travel deep into the Wastelands, through Premier’s home territory, dodging the scattered remnants of a defeated army lusting for blood and vengeance.

But beating in the heart of the Wastelands is an ancient power more dangerous than Premier or his creatures—and it’s been waiting for Hellsfire for a thousand years. It will force the young wizard to make a devastating choice—one that could change the course of history not only for Alexandria and the Wastelands, but for all of Northern Shala and the lands beyond. And to save his homeland, Hellsfire may have to lose the person he loves the most.

What once was one, will then be two, and never again be whole.

My Review: I loved where this book went. It blew the first book away. It's packed with action, yet not to much, so that it doesn't take over. This is a series that you are going to want to keep up with. It makes you wonder what will happen in the next book and if it will be better than book two. I'm telling you right now, if you are a fantasy person, this book will fit right in with you. You have these characters and you think that you hate them, then you love them, then you hate them again. These characters are at a point that you will care for them even if you hate them. 

Now lets talk about Hellsfire. In book two he becomes very mature. He thinks things through now and isn't so rash. Though his ego lacks, but his hero personality might make up for it at times. Which in this book makes him more interesting, besides who wouldnt like an interesting character? They sure do make the books worth the read.

This book we get more background on characters, and learn of new character. Now when this is all told, you get this sense that you are in the book. After that part its hard not to be sucked in until the end.

My Rating: