Aug 27, 2014

Freak Show

Freak Show
by Patti Larsen

Book: Episode One: Nightshade Cases
Publisher: Smashwords
Pub Date: 2014
Genre: Young Adult
Format: eBook
Source: Author
Book LinksGoodreads  Amazon

When transsexual starlet Aisling is murdered, Detective Geraldine Meyers is assigned the case. With help from medical examiner Dr. Rachel Hunter, Gerri realizes this is no ordinary killing. While she might not want to call in over-eager anthropologist Dr. Kinsey DanAllart, the detective is forced to trust her friend’s expertise in symbology, even though doing so means admitting “weird” things might be happening in Silver City. As the three friends unravel the mystery of the dancer’s death, one thing is made absolutely apparent—something isn’t right in their new hometown. And someone is doing everything they can to make sure the truth doesn’t come out.

In Silver City, sometimes friendship can be murder.

Welcome to the first Nightshade Case, a series of twenty-one episodes in twenty-one weeks. Please note: this episodic series is based on the television show model, with screenwriting notations and shorter formats. There will be a complete mystery each week, with cliffhangers only occurring in the full season story line.

My Review:  At first when I saw this book I wasn’t sure about what to think of it. It does look more like a TV show instead of a book series but I was surprised. It was easy to read like any other book and the main difference was that instead of being separated by chapters it was separated by notations for where the next scene was set. The characters in the book were well written and supported each other very well in the investigation and as friends. This first book in this series is more of a mystery with paranormal dealings on the side. While each of the main characters has a paranormal power they have differing degrees of strength and belief that it is supernatural.  

I can't wait to read the next books and see where things are taken to!