Aug 19, 2014

The Spirit Heir

The Spirit Heir (A Dance of
Dragons #2)
Release Date: 10/30/14

Summary from Goodreads:

From bestselling
author Kaitlyn Davis comes the second book in the thrilling A Dance of Dragons
series--perfect for fans of Throne of Glass, Graceling, and Game of Thrones!



Drenched in darkness and surrounded by the echo of screams, Jinji waits deep in
the dungeons of Rayfort, haunted by the memory of the knife stabbing Rhen,
plagued by a foreign voice whispering through her mind. A few floors above,
Rhen rests trapped in a coma, about to wake to a changed world—a world where
his best friend is a woman, his nephew is the king, and an enemy army surrounds
him on all sides.



But human wars are insignificant compared to the darkness gathering unseen.
Memories of lives she never lived flash through Jinji's thoughts, hinting at a
past that cannot be repeated. A mysterious phantom visits Rhen, carrying cryptic
messages of the future. And somewhere out there, the shadow continues to lurk
in silence.



Uncertain of their relationship and tempted by new feelings, Rhen and Jinji
must find a way to work together. The fate of humanity rests on their shoulders
and the real battle has only just begun…




Book One:

(new cover)



The Shadow Soul (A Dance of Dragons, #1)
Release Date: 02/20/14

Release Date:
GAME OF THRONES meets GRACELING in a new fantasy series by bestselling author Kaitlyn Davis.

Jinji has been haunted by the death of her twin brother for ten years. Now, on the dawn of her joining, the nightmare that claimed him has returned for her.

Prince Whylrhen is determined to prevent the past from repeating itself. His kingdom is expecting a new heir, and he will stop at nothing to keep the child safe.

Though they've never met, the two share a deep secret—magic. Jinji can weave the elements to create master illusions and Whylrhen can pull burning flames into his flesh. But neither of them knows what they are truly capable of until a chance encounter brings them together. For their story has played out before, in a long forgotten time—an age of myth that is about to be reborn…

RAVE REVIEWS!
"The writing is flawless. The story and plot line, and plot
twists, had me captivated and enamored for the first words. 
I couldn't
put this book down for anything
, and I absolutely cannot wait for book
two...It's an amazing start to a new series that is going to have people of all
ages wanting so much more." - 
Happy Tails and Tales


"One word to describe this book: intense!  Everything
from the battles, to the secrets, to the descriptions of the characters and
scenery, are all incredibly intense.  This book had me biting my nails,
stomach tided in knots, and 
completely entranced til the last word." - Desert
Rose Reviews



"Throughout the story, the stakes were always raised. There
was no part that lagged while Davis was telling her story of far off lands,
and 
the drama continued to the very end...To those readers who
like 
fantasy and adventure, or to those who tried to read "A
Song of Ice and Fire" but couldn't make it through the first chapter
without falling asleep - this could be a series for you." - 
Pink
Fluffy Hearts



"The Shadow Soul was positively transportive, left me feeling
refreshed, and renewed my faith in symbolism, imagery, and the importance of
world building and cultural preservation...
If you want to set out on a
journey, read this.
" - We Do Write


"I loved this book! I was drawn into the story with the fantastic
and descriptive storytelling
 told alternatively between Rhen and
Jinji!... The political pickings, magical murderers, and shadowy suspense
are the real plot stars in this book and the wonderful characterization and
world-building adds extra oomph 
to grab you and keep you in this world." - EBook
Escapes



About the Author
I've always been a writer. I grew up duct taping my novels together, started writing complete manuscripts in high school and studied creative writing at Johns Hopkins University. Upon graduating, I decided it was finally time to actually give my dream career a chance. So, of course, I started writing a young adult paranormal romance series -- and no, I'm not jumping on the bandwagon. I've been a true paranormal supporter for my entire life! I blame my obsession almost completely on Buffy the Vampire Slayer, my all-time favorite television show. And, before you ask: Yes, I own every season... even the post WB ones! I especially challenge anyone to watch the first three seasons and not fall in love with Angel, securing a lifelong love of vampires! Other culprits of my paranormal obsession are some of my favorite authors: JK Rowling, Raymond Feist, Meg Cabot, Richelle Mead, Lynne Ewing and Tamora Pierce.


Author Links:
 photo iconwebsite-32x32_zps1f477f69.png    photo iconfacebook-32x32_zps64a79d4a.png  photo iconpinterest_zps6fcf02a7.png



Cover Reveal Organized by: